Digital marketing is a vast domain that comes with different types of strategies, tools and platforms to reach out the masses and engage with the target audience. Just like every field has their own vocabulary or jargon, digital marketing has them too. Since this field is an ocean in itself, the jargons are never-ending. Even the most experienced of digital marketers go blank when they come across a new abbreviation or acronym. And when you are a newbie it becomes even more crucial for you to grasp the language of marketers and advertisers.
To make things easy for you, we have come up with some of the most important and frequently used Abbreviations of digital marketing. Below you will find the list. Stick with us till the end to enhance your marketing vocabulary and knowledge.
Search Engine Optimization or SEO is one of the basic yet important terms in digital marketing. It is a way through which businesses can make their online presence soar by ranking higher on search engines like Google. Unlike paid ads it helps you drive organic traffic to your website. The average return on investment of SEO is 735-2200 Percent. So, businesses should definitely invest in SEO for maximum returns.
Basic features of SEO:
Social media optimization is a strategy of optimizing a business’s social media platforms in a way that drives traffic or attention to their brand and increases their online visibility. Through better use of social media you can promote your products, services, and brands. It is also a great way to connect with the audience. There are many social media platforms that you can use for connecting with your audience like Instagram, Facebook, Pinterest and YouTube. (Top Digital Marketing Abbreviations)
PPC stands for pay-per-click. It is one of the best ways to stay at the top of the search engines and drive traffic. In this model, the advertiser has to pay the publisher every time the ad is clicked. You can run PPC advertising on various search engines like, Google and Bing and social media platforms like, Facebook, Instagram etc. Advertisers bid on some specific keyword. When the user searches for the same keyword, the ads with the highest bid show up at the top of the search engines.
Related Topic: Where can I learn Pay Per Click and Google Adwords Course in East Delhi?
Search engine marketing is a way to reach your audience through paid ads. In SEM, you pay search engines like Google and Bing to show your ad on top every time a user searches for a keyword related to your business. This makes it easy for you to reach those audiences who are interested in your product.
Cost per click is a great way through which advertisers can calculate how much they are paying for each click on their ads on search engines and social media platforms. You can select the keyword that you want to show up for and set a maximum bid or price that you will pay when someone clicks on your ad. The marketer’s motive should be to limit their CPC while still driving quality leads that turn into customers.
Key performance indicators in digital marketing are those metrics that help a business understand the performance of their campaigns. It helps you understand which strategy is working out for your business and which one is not. By keeping a track of your KPIs, you can find out various things like, your website’s traffic, conversion rates, return on investment and more. (Best Digital Marketing Abbreviations)
AB testing is a method through which companies test two versions of some elements (web page, email or content) and see what works out best for them in terms of clicks, traffic or conversions. AB testing helps marketers run their marketing campaigns effectively. They optimize their marketing strategies in a way that helps them earn a huge return on investment.
Also Read: Best Affiliate Marketing Institutes in East Delhi
Call to action is an instruction that drives users to take a certain action. The action can be driving users to subscribe to a newsletter, make a purchase or click on a link. CTA plays an important role in driving conversions and it should be compelling. It helps users understand what they have to do after they visit your blog or open your email. You need to write clear and concise and visually appealing CTAs to reap benefits. You can take help of AB testing to check which CTA is better.
Click through rates is a ratio of the number of clicks you get on your ad or product listings. It helps you understand the performance of the keywords that you used or how well your ads are performing. By tracking your CTR you can make changes to your marketing strategies.
CTR is calculated by dividing the number of clicks that you received on your ad to the number of times your ad is shown.
CTR= Clicks
Impressions
Return on investment is a metric that is used to measure the possible returns or profitability on a particular campaign or any other investment. It tells you a lot about the cost that you bear on the investment and the returns that you got.
Here’s the formula of calculating ROI:
ROI= Net income * 100
Cost of investment
If you’ve got a positive ROI then your campaign was successful, but if you got a negative ROI, you incurred losses.
UX or user experience matters a lot in digital marketing. If your website’s UX is not up to the mark then you won’t be able to drive traffic and conversions. Your bounceback rate will increase too. Optimizing your website or app’s UX can make it easy for businesses’ to market their product and attract a loyal customer base.
UI refers to the user interface or the visual elements and layouts of a website that users come across. The motive of both UI and UX is to enhance the user experience and help them achieve their motives of visiting a website or an app. (Top notch Digital Marketing Abbreviations)
SERP stands for search engine results page. Whenever a user types in a search query in search engines like, Google or Yahoo, the results that you see on the page called SERP. You see various links from different websites, some of them are paid and others are ranked organically.
Cost-per-lead keeps track of those campaigns that are targeted to generate new leads. Whenever a business starts a new campaign, they have to pay a price on each new generated lead to the publishers. Whenever a user clicks on the ad they get a form in which they put their personal information so that businesses can reach out to the leads.
For example, if you spend $100 on PPC ads and get five conversions, your CPL would be $20.
Formula of CPL:
CPL= Amount of money spend on campaign
Number of leads generated
Secure sockets layer creates a layer of security between a server and a client. SSL encrypts the data and also stops it from getting leaked to unauthorized third party websites. SSL protects intimate information of the user like pins and passwords by keeping them hidden from hackers to steal it. If you see a lock sign on a website then that means that the website is SSL encrypted. Such websites have more authority in the eyes of search engines and it also gives them a ranking boost.
Uniform resource locator is the unique address of a website. A URL helps the users and search engines like Google understand your website. The URL address contains different things including protocol, domain name and path. URL affects the ranking of your website on Google.
Google my business is a free tool which is used for local SEO. By using this tool businesses can manage their presence online on google maps and search. This tool is useful in driving good traffic to your website. In GMB you can provide information about your business, location, website and phone number. You can engage with potential customers by replying to their reviews.
GA stands for Google analytics, which is a useful tool in tracking the performance of your website and ads. Your website or campaign’s GA tells you a lot about the bounce back rate, conversions, which strategies are working out for you and which are not. You can strategize your marketing plans according to your GA.
DA refers to domain authority which tells search engines about the overall strength of a website. It considers various factors like, high quality backlinks, quality content, website’s age and other factors. A website that has a high DA has more authority in the eyes of Google and will rank easily in comparison to a website with a low DA.
PA stands for page authority which solely focuses on a single webpage within a website. It measures the strength of that particular page based on different factors like, keyword optimization, internal links, external links, meta tag and descriptions along with others.
Conclusion
The list of Digital marketing Abbreviations used in the Industry is never ending. In this article, we have tried covering the most important and frequently used acronyms. As you move ahead with digital marketing, you will come across more complicated abbreviations like, XML, FTP, API, CRO, and more. But you don’t have to worry because we will be covering more vocabulary of digital marketing in coming articles.